

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES October 13, 2011

Members:

<u>Council Chair</u>: Ms. Gwen Hoyseth <u>Council Vice-Chair</u>: Ms. Jenna Backer

<u>President</u>: Mr. Don Gnatiuk | **Notice of Absence**

Vice-President Academics and Research: Ms. Susan Bansgrove, Chair

<u>Deans</u>: Mr. Chris Laue

Dr. Kazem Mashkournia | Notice of Absence

Ms. Jean Nordin

<u>Academic Staff Association</u>: Mr. Matthew Bain

Mr. Brian Carreau Dr. George Ding

Ms. Linda Duval | Notice of Absence

Dr. Rene Gadacz Ms. Gwen Hoyseth Ms. Cara Leaf

Ms. Dianne McDonald

Mr. Jeff Nutting

Dr. Tanvir Sadiq | *Notice of Absence*Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu | *Notice of Absence*

Ms. Theresa Suderman Ms. Tamara Van Tassell

Students' Association: Ms. Jenna Backer

Mr. Dalen Chmilar

Ms. Rachel Ingram (guest) for Ms. Lisa Hildebrand

Ms. Amy Lamarche Ms. Keslin Park Mr. Evan Paul Mr. Tony Penton Ms. Lydia Sadiq Ms. Serena Starrett Ms. Janaiya Wouters

Employees' Association: Ms. Sheila Lock | *Notice of Absence*

Ms. Joanne Porta



<u>Alberta Union of Provincial Employees</u>: Ms. Yvonne Peterson

<u>Community Members</u>: Mr. Dwight Logan | *Notice of Absence*

Ms. Terri Scott

3577 CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

3578 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOVED by Ms. Scott; **SECONDED** by Ms. Porta that the agenda of October 13, 2011 be approved as presented.

CARRIED

3579 MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 8, 2011

MOVED by Dr. Gadacz; **SECONDED** by Mr. Nutting that the minutes of September 8, 2011 be approved as presented.

CARRIED

3580 ACADEMIC COUNTIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

A slate of nominees was received from the Nominating Committee.

CONVOCATION COMMITTEE GRANDE PRAIRIE CAMPUS

The nominees for the Convocation Committee Grande Prairie Campus are: Susan Bansgrove, Jean Nordin, Doris Hoveland, Shawnna McClelland, Joanne Ballance, Kelly Benning, Jenna Backer (or designee), Sukhvir Sandhu, Jim Wohlgemuth, Lynne Ness, Brian Parlee and Richard Lehman.

MOVED by Ms. Scott, **SECONDED** by Ms. Backer that Council approve the members of the Convocation Committee Grande Prairie Campus for 2011-2012 as: Susan Bansgrove, Jean Nordin, Doris Hoveland, Shawnna McClelland, Joanne Ballance, Kelly Benning, Jenna Backer (or designee), Sukhvir Sandhu, Jim Wohlgemuth, Lynne Ness, Brian Parlee and Richard Lehman.

CARRIED

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

Changes to the membership of the Curriculum Committee: Jennifer Mclean replaces Brenda Lindquist; Geoff Whittall replaces Bob Howey; Ross Young replaces Chad Boone. There are also two additions: Lisa Hildebrand and Kelly Rainer.

The modified list of members for the Curriculum Committee are: Don Gnatiuk, Susan Bansgrove, Marg McCuaig-Boyd, Jean Nordin, Kazem Mashkournia, Shirley Pasieka, Chris Laue, Jennifer McLean, Doris Hoveland, Gordon Pellerin, Fran McGuire, Lisa Hildebrand, Colleen MacKinnon, Sharron Barr, Daryl White, Nancy Campbell (alternate is Sheryl Heikel), Lori Bombier (fall term), Pat Coristine (winter term), David Gregg, Cindy Carter (fall term), Pat Caulfield Fontaine (winter term), Bonnie Hessler (alternate is Louise Rawluk), Ray Kardas, Geoff Whittall, Ross Young, Les Ashton, Richard Byam, Ryan Peterson, Karlee Worobetz, Brent Boutilier, Bryan Taylor, Fred Walkley and Kelly Rainer.

MOVED by Ms. Ingram, SECONDED by Mr. Penton that Council approve the members of the Curriculum Committee for 2011-2012 as: Don Gnatiuk, Susan Bansgrove, Marg McCuaig-Boyd, Jean Nordin, Kazem Mashkournia, Shirley Pasieka, Chris Laue, Jennifer McLean, Doris Hoveland, Gordon Pellerin, Fran McGuire, Lisa Hildebrand, Colleen MacKinnon, Sharron Barr, Daryl White, Nancy Campbell (alternate is Sheryl Heikel), Lori Bombier (fall term), Pat Coristine (winter term), David Gregg, Cindy Carter (fall term), Pat Caulfield Fontaine (winter term), Bonnie Hessler (alternate is Louise Rawluk), Ray Kardas, Geoff Whittall, Ross Young, Les Ashton, Richard Byam, Ryan Peterson, Karlee Worobetz, Brent Boutilier, Bryan Taylor, Fred Walkley and Kelly Rainer.

CARRIED

DISTANCE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Distance Education Committee are: Don Gnatiuk, Susan Bansgrove, Jean Nordin, Kazem Mashkournia, Shirley Pasieka, Chris Laue, Colleen MacKinnon, Sharron Barr, Ali Al-Asadi, Sheryl Heikel, Trevor Thomas, Sean Irwin, Cindy Carter, Marie Wakaluk-Janz, Bethe Goldie, Lane Borstad, Janelle MacRae, Anna Gillis,, Peter Sellers, Don Parker, Craig Rode, Susan Klassen, Peter Gerzanich, Alan Hagen, Jordan Pickup, Doris Hoveland and Keslin Park..

MOVED by Mr. Paul, **SECONDED** by Ms. Ingram that Council approve the members of the Distance Education Committee for 2011-2012 as: Don Gnatiuk, Susan Bansgrove, Jean Nordin, Kazem Mashkournia, Shirley Pasieka, Chris Laue, Colleen MacKinnon, Sharron Barr, Ali Al-Asadi, Sheryl Heikel, Trevor Thomas, Sean Irwin, Cindy Carter, Marie Wakaluk-Janz, Bethe Goldie, Lane Borstad, Janelle MacRae, Anna Gillis,, Peter Sellers, Don Parker, Craig Rode, Susan Klassen, Peter Gerzanich, Alan Hagen, Jordan Pickup, Doris Hoveland and Keslin Park.

CARRIED

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Nominating Committee are: Kris Weeks, Richard Byam, Gordon Pellerin, Dianne Bedford and Lisa Hildebrand.

MOVED by Mr. Penton, **SECONDED** by Ms. McDonald that Council approve the members of the Nominating Committee for 2011-2012 as: Kris Weeks, Richard Byam, Gordon Pellerin, Dianne Bedford and Lisa Hildebrand.

CARRIED

PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Program Review Committee are: Susan Bansgrove, Kazem Mashkournia, Kellan Eckstrom, Cheryl Head, Pat Caulfield Fontaine, Ali Al-Asadi, Richard Byam, Brenda Lindquist, Lenore Roy and Janet Longmate.



MOVED by Mr. Penton, **SECONDED** by Ms. McDonald that Council approve the members of the Program Review Committee for 2011-2012 as: Susan Bansgrove, Kazem Mashkournia, Kellan Eckstrom, Cheryl Head, Pat Caulfield Fontaine, Ali Al-Asadi, Richard Byam, Brenda Lindquist, Lenore Roy and Janet Longmate.

CARRIED

STUDENT AWARDS COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Student Awards Committee are: Carla Basarab, Kelly Coulter, Cate Sazwan, Gordon Pellerin and Robin Watson.

MOVED by Ms. Van Tassell, **SECONDED** by Ms. Sadiq that Council approve the members of the Student Awards Committee for 2011-2012 as: Carla Basarab, Kelly Coulter, Cate Sazwan, Gordon Pellerin and Robin Watson.

CARRIED

ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR

Ms. Gwen Hoyseth and Ms. Jenna Backer were nominated for the position of Chair of Academic Council.

By majority vote, Ms. Gwen Hoyseth was appointed to the position of Chair of Academic Council for 2011-2012.

MOVED by Mr. Paul, **SECONDED** by Ms. Ingram to destroy the ballots.

ACADEMIC COUNCIL VICE-CHAIR

Ms. Jenna Backer was nominated for the position of Vice-Chair of Academic Council.

By acclamation, Ms. Jenna Backer was appointed to the position of Vice-Chair of Academic Council for 2011-2012.

3581 ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:37 p.m.

Ms. Susan Bansgrove, Chair	Ms. Shawnna McClelland, Records

3577	CALL TO ORDER	2649
3578	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	2649
3579	MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 8, 2011	2649
3580	ACADEMIC COUNTIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS	2649
3581	AD.IOURNMENT	2651